Embedded Software Engineer

Embedded Software Engineer is responsible for the development, testing, and maintenance of the software for embedded devices. An embedded system is a device that combines hardware and software, but unlike general-purpose machines such as personal computers and smartphones, it performs a specific task or set of tasks. Embedded systems can be found almost anywhere, including washers, flashlights, GPS devices, televisions, and electronic control units in cars and airplanes. Almost every electrical device that is more complex than a simple light switch contains a digital processor that reads data from its surroundings via sensors, runs a computational algorithm, and produces some form of output that interacts with the environment. To put this in context, more than ten billion embedded devices were manufactured in 2018. The process of developing embedded software is very different than developing conventional applications for general-purpose machines. Because unexpected failures in embedded systems can cause the entire device to crash, they must be extremely reliable. Unlike traditional applications, embedded devices and software must work correctly for years without maintenance, and embedded developers do not enjoy the luxury of fixing bugs after production. The small size of embedded systems and limited resources make designing and developing software for them difficult. Resources such as processor time, main memory, and storage must be distributed to different routines as efficiently as possible.