Effects of student population on quality of education

At the beginning of the 20th century, only a few percentages of people can afford to attend university due to limited resources. Fortunately, the number of university students had increased drastically over the past decades which shows the increase in people's living standards. There are benefits of more people attending the university, both for the society and individual, but the disbenefits need to address as well in order to prevent them from happening in the future. The first benefit that came with the increase in student population is the improvement of facilities and services. With more people joining the university, the university will receive more funding from collecting more tuition fees. The funds are used to improve the classroom and equipment to fits the student's requirements. Additionally, with more students, it will attract investors to invest in accommodation and entertainment around the university. This will not only increase the living standard of the students but also provide more jobs for the local people. Nonetheless, with a higher population problems will surely arise. Firstly, with more people in a classroom, teaching and information may not reach everyone equally. The professor cannot asset the understanding of different student equally which often result in many students being neglected by their teacher. Hence, the conventional method of teaching may not be very effective for a large class of students. Furthermore, a sudden increase in students can be too difficult for the university to handle due to limited capacity. Due to the increase in student population, the university needs to increase its capacity by constructing a new building. However, the building plans are often postponed and without the new facilities to accommodate the increase in student population, it will lead to overcapacity and result in lowering the educational standards. In my opinion, the population of students attending university isn't the only factor that affects the education quality but other factors need to be included as well. The best way to improve general education quality is to provide students with a suitable environment, equipment, and encourage them to learn by themself.