Effects of stress on health

We all experience stress in our daily lives from different sources: jobs, relationships, finances, etc. If people live under stress for a long period of time, it has a bad consequence to health. This essay will discuss the impact of stress on health. The point I’d like to begin with is that stress is the leading cause of headaches. A stress headache is the most common type of headache, its effect on the quality of life is considerable, particularly if they're chronic. For instance, the frequent pain may render you unable to attend activities. According to researchers, managing stress headaches often begins with fostering healthy habits like exercise. Another point that I could add is that living constantly with stress also compromises the immune system and this introduces an inability to fight off illness and disease. It raises your blood pressure, and it's not good for your health to constantly be exposed to stress hormones. In turn, this will increase the risk of contracting more serious illnesses such as heart attacks. Studies also link stress to changes in the way blood clots, which makes a heart attack more likely. Last but not least, stress can make sleep come less easily and can lead to wakefulness throughout the night. Too much stress can rob you of sleep and make the sleep you get less restorative. Recent surveys have shown that at least 30% of respondents said they suffer from severe insomnia because of stress. That leads to the next day's work performance being extremely badly affected because they feel very tired. Stress also takes an emotional toll. In conclusion, stress takes a toll on your health as well as your quality of life. Remember to take time to escape from a stressful environment and reconnect with nature every now and then.