Effects of overfishing and solutions to it

Overfishing is an environmental issue which means the consumption of a species of fish from a body of water at an alarming rate which is outpacing natural reproduction. The majority of countries around the world are facing this hot potato, thereby causing many detrimental effects to the environment. Subsequently, people had better get a closer insight into overfishing and take action to solve this problem as well. Marine ecosystem imbalance is attributable to overfishing. When the number of fish is caught excessively, it led to the imbalance condition of the ocean and likely to disrupt the food chain. Moreover, this issue exerts negative influences on the unnecessary loss of important marine creatures, consisting of some vulnerable species such as algae, coral, or turtles. Moving on, overfishing is not only deleterious to aquatic life but also impacts harmfully to seawater by dumping oil and chemical liquid into the ocean. It is no doubt true that the status of water pollution has been grave in recent years. There is a widely held view among people that spilling little contaminated liquid into the sea does not threaten considerably to our ocean life. However, every person damages a little can change to massive pollution. The economy plays a crucial role in society due to the fact that many entrepreneurs and locals derive benefits from fishing. Fishermen who recite along the coast have tendency to earn their livings by selling fish as a main source of financial budget or catching fish to furnish them with seafood every day. If someday all the species of fish are taken out, people will face the dilemma of living or businesses will be on the verge of collapse. As a consequence, it is the right time for us to change our behaviors in order to tackle overfishing. People should adhere to the rights-based fishery management so that they can clearly determine how much fish they is permitted to catch or what times of the year fishing is limited. Besides, education might enlighten fishers on fishing regulations and also enhance people’s awareness of saving the ocean. Choosing certified sustainable seafood to consume is another practical solution. On the whole, overfishing has been a social crisis today, but it is completely inevitable in our lives. Humans are supposed to be more conscious of this environmental issue in order that our world will become better.