Effects and solutions of unemployment

These days, the coronavirus pandemic has caused millions of people to lose their job. And it is such a big concern in all areas of the world. When unemployment rates are high and steady, there are negative impacts on the long-run economic growth. So, this essay will examine the bad effects of this problem and put forward some solutions for it. ​Talking about the negative points, it is undeniable that unemployment is seriously affecting individuals and society as well. Firstly, people don't have enough money to pay for their life. Everything in the world costs money. If an unemployed individual has a family, it's difficult for them to settle down. Another individual negative effect of unemployment is that it can cause health issues. Being unemployed can lead to depression, low self-esteem, anxiety and other mental health issues, especially if an individual truly wants a job but can't find employment. Tension can occur, causing stress and strain on the body. Furthermore, during unemployment, there is no income, which leads to poverty. The burden of debt will increase, leading to economic problems. When there is unemployment, the governments have to step in and pay unemployment benefits. By needing to pay more of these benefits, the governments must borrow money to pay the benefits or reduce spending in other areas. And much more severely, many crimes are committed by individuals who are unemployed and living in poverty. When unemployment rates increase, crime rates tend to rise. According to the study in the Journal of Quantitative Criminology in 2016, individuals who are unemployed for socially unacceptable reasons and don't wish to seek out job opportunities are more likely to engage in burglary or robbery. ​However, numerous solutions can help reduce the amount of unemployment. An intuitive measure to fight unemployment is to create jobs. Jobs can be created in several different ways. The creation of jobs often involves raising the incentive for companies to employ people and open branches in weak economic regions. Moreover, it is crucial to improve the education levels of people so that it will be easier for them to find a job. This education should start early in school and teachers should pay close attention and take care of every child to ensure good educational progress. ​In conclusion, unemployment can be a serious problem, especially in structurally weak geographic regions where firms do not have proper incentives to open branches. To be able to fight high levels of unemployment, governments have to take suitable measures. By doing so, more people can get back into work and the overall quality of life for people is likely to increase