effect of social media on teenager

Social media are now no stranger to human’s daily life, especially to young people. They have become an irreplaceable part of many teenagers with various advantages and negative effects. Social media can offer numerous benefits to young people. Firstly, the very beginning purpose of social media is to provide a new way of communication and connect people. Social media can create online networks where teenagers can get in touch with their friends when face-to-face interaction is not allowed. Secondly, social media are great learning assistance for students. When time spent at school is not sufficient for teamwork, they can use diverse apps such as Facebook, Zoom or Google Meet to discuss what to do and check the progress of their work. Moreover, young people can get access to great sources of information for learning materials through social media. Finally, spending time on social media is also a means to relieve stress. Teenagers usually watch funny gifs or video on the Internet so that they can have some fun and forget their pressure for a while. In addition, kids who have hobbies relating to art, photography or music can develop their passion through different platforms and forums. While bringing so many advantages, social media are also harmful in many ways. Firstly, social media can put young people at a risk of being the victim of cyber crime or cyberbullying. Teenagers who easily trust others stand a higher chance of being deceived both materially and emotionally. Not only can young people be the victims of cyberbullying, they can also even be the one who bullies and harasses others. Secondly, narcissism is increased when young people are too obsessed with taking selfies and their own appearances. These kids tend to grow up being more self-centered and seeking for attention every where they go and of whatever they do. Finally, teenagers might experience various negative feelings from using social media such as anxiety, depression or angry. For example, they may feel anxious if they do not receive as many ‘likes’ or ‘hearts’ as expected after posting a new avatar or updating new status. In conclusion, social media have made considerable changes in how people, particularly teenagers, work and live. While they are benefitial with enormous advatages, they can also cause many bad influences that young people should be aware of.