Education should only be allowed to deserving students

Education is a basic human right. Although I believe education till the high school level should be accessible to everyone, university-level education can have some entry barriers. A basic level of academic ability is essential for taking University level courses due to the fact that they provide programs in specialized fields. Colleges have programs in diverse fields of study like sciences, arts, technology, and management. To learn these specializations, people should not only have an interest in these domains but also have a fundamental aptitude and some required knowledge of the field. For instance, to pursue a civil engineering curriculum, a student must have a basic understanding of physics, materials, and even chemistry. Without this knowledge, it will be difficult for prospective scholars to study the courses of civil engineering. Additionally, if admission is offered to every person who applies, it will be extremely tricky for educators to instruct a class with participants of varied capabilities. As a result, all aspects of the delivery of education like speed, medium, and evaluation will become complicated. In my opinion, allowing students academically worthy to attend a course is more beneficial for all parties. Another major reason to not admit everyone to University programs is the lack of resources. Infrastructure, educators and educational materials such as books are all limited resources. For example, New Delhi has around 200 colleges with total seats of around 2. 5 lakhs. Currently, over 50 lakh applicants apply to study in these institutions. If a minimum required academic ability is not used as an entry barrier, this handful of colleges will overflow with numbers beyond which the infrastructure can support. In the long term, this will lead to denial of opportunities to capable undergraduates and a waste of resources over undeserving students. To summarize, a minimum academic capability is essential for the effective utilization of the current educational system. This aids in the filtering of capable students who can acquire and utilize the knowledge and skills taught in Universities. Lastly, according to me, the current educational institutions can simply not support such a trend.