Education is not a luxury, but a basic human right and as such should be free for everyone irrespective of personal wealth.

Education is important for many people all over the world. Without education, it is difficult for a country to develop. Therefore, many firmly believe that education is a basic human right and not some kind of optional luxury. Nevertheless, some may not advocate giving free education to all people and cite various reasons for that. However, I am convinced that it should be free for everyone regardless of how wealthy they are. On the one hand, it is believed that free education has some drawbacks for students and the state budget. First, many poor students who have to pay for their tuition fees often put greater effort into studying than others do. This is because they have to get good grades and outperform their peers in order to find a good job to pay back their student loan and to support their family. As a result, it is no exaggeration to say that being given free education will lessen students’ determination and motivation to study hard. Also, free education means that the government needs to invest a substantial amount of money in that sector, which can be a major challenge, especially in poor countries. On the other hand, there are plenty of advantages to providing free education. First of all, there are many poor people around the world, even in developed nations. These people may not have a chance to receive adequate education due to their low income, so they should be exempted from having to pay fees. Thus, free education can provide them with an equal opportunity to study irrespective of their ability to pay. Furthermore, having an educated population and workforce is the most decisive factor in the development of a country, so governments should invest in this field in order to accelerate economic development and social and cultural prosperity. To sum up, to ensure the development of society and the economy and that everyone including the poor can have an equal opportunity in life, education should be free for all.