Employers often choose to hire someone based on their work experience, rather than their university degree. After all, training someone with no experience is expensive and time consuming, even if they were an excellent student.

Nowadays employers believe that work experience would be a better option than qualifications, as it saves managers time and minimal necessary training. I cannot deny that professional background plays an essential role in job placement because it guarantees a competent worker with the required skills. Many university graduates obtaining a high level of education are still not in demand. A good illustration of this is only 23% of jobs require a university degree, at the same time, 40% of people do not work in their field. This proves that education is less in demand, so it is not easy to get a job without experience having only a university degree. At university, students learn everything theoretically, but experience gives them practice, understanding and the ability to do things properly and quickly. Consequently, the employer benefits from hiring an experienced employee, as experience is a guarantee for them that the candidate will be able to cope with the responsibilities in the company, and the process of adaptation and inclusion in the business will be much faster. Furthermore, unskilled employees struggle with the lack of soft skills which are less teachable. An inexperienced worker is more prone to mistakes, has difficulty finding a language of communication with others, resolving conflicts, and is less resilient to stress. For this reason, staff officers avoid hiring people without experience. Such skills as problem-solving skills, teamwork and communication skills, workplace etiquette come through experience and possession of them would be advantageous for both employer and employee. To conclude, I support the idea that work experience has a greater impact on employment since it is cost-efficient and mainly defines employee’s operability. Moreover, many qualities necessary in recruitment can be learned only through experience.