Education has been regarded as a ladder of social ascendancy since ancient times. It is therefore imperative that we invest deeply in the acquisition of knowledge in regards to higher education to ensure a successful future. The anticipation of going abroad is certainly a thrilling one but the looming anxiety and struggles of setting foot in a foreign land tells us otherwise.

Education has been regarded as a ladder of social ascendancy since ancient times. It is therefore imperative that we invest deeply in the acquisition of knowledge in regards to higher education to ensure a successful future. The anticipation of going abroad is certainly a thrilling one but the looming anxiety and struggles of setting foot in a foreign land tells us otherwise. Therefore, some students decide to study locally to maintain a semblance of certainty in a familiar environment back home. Nevertheless, there are certainly benefits and drawbacks of either choice. Going overseas for university study expands a student’s horizons and provides an enriching, international experience along with new insights. Students are pushed outside of their comfort zone to experience another culture, language, environment and education system. It teaches students to appreciate the remarkable differences and diversity firsthand thus enabling them to recognize and dismiss stereotypes they may have previously held. By immersing themselves in different cultures and swiftly adapting to a new way of life, students are able to become more confident and independent through socialisation. In addition, studying abroad enhances employment opportunities. The time spent outside your homeland reflects positively on resumes and increases chances of employment with international and multinational organisations. It also exhibits a student who is mature, self motivated, willing to embrace challenges and able to cope with various problems and situations which sets them apart from the majority of job applicants. Although there is not much difference between local and foreign graduates in terms of qualifications, the soft skills obtained abroad will definitely differentiate them. However, at a time of limited federal, state and local budgets and difficult financial choices, some students prefer to study locally. The cost of studying is overwhelmingly cheaper and the registration fee is affordable to everyone. Students will also find it to be easier to apply for local scholarships and be offered a place since the government will prioritise and offer aid and support to their own citizens. Furthermore, international students typically find themselves to experience homesickness and culture shock. Some of them will be uncomfortable and extremely emotional without their family members close to them. Moreover, there is a relatively high difficulty of conforming to the local customs and traditions causing them to feel like an outcast which further intensifies the homesickness. As a result, their academic performance and mental health will be affected. In conclusion, it is worth noting that the value of a student’s experience comes down to motivation and attitude. At the end of the day, education is all about instilling knowledge, increasing opportunities and opening the eyes of the young people. The choice to study abroad or locally should be made based on how well an individual can manage oneself.