Each year the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime, and what can be done to prevent this rise in this criminal activity?

One of the causes of rising in a criminal activity is increasing levels of poverty. In other words, scarcity of essential things for life drive people to commit criminal acts in order to satisfy their needs, for example, myriad of African or East Asian countries suffer from high rate of crime owing to substantially low level of income. A solution for the governments to enhance poverty reduction program in order to subsidize as many people as they can.   Furthermore, poor people should be provided with privilege which help to equalise society not only in terms of financial situation but also social one. Another reason for ascending crime rate may be a lenient punishment. because it gives an opportunity to criminals accomplish their illegal action even without twice thinking. they acclimatize such inclinations toward breaking law as a result of lack of fear. To tackle this problem, governments have to introduce more harsh penalties ranging from putting in prison to capital punishment. Then murderers may deter themselves from committing severe crime owing to being convicted to death penaly. In conclusion, it seems that poverty and lenient punishment are the key factors behind crime. Possible solutions would involve ameliorating poverty reduction programs and bring in a law more severe punishments to reduce the crime rate.