E-readers/e-books are better than printed books.

Have you ever thought that technology will affect the book industry? With developing technology, book industry has changed, and readers are divided. In this essay, I will focus on two sides of book industry: E-readers/e-books and printed books. In recent years, many readers have turned to e-books. They prefer e-books because e-readers are small, lightweight and user friendly. Some readers still choose to buy printed books. They find out printed books are nostalgic, collectible, and tactile. E-book readers supports their choice with three arguments: More accessibility, extra features and more eco-friendly. In short, especially ease of use, e-books are better than printed books. First argument’s of e-book readers is “e-books are more accessible than printed books” in three different angles: Price, buying process, ease of use. First of all, nowadays prices is important criteria for readers, especially in my country (Turkey). E-books are cheaper than printed books because e-books cost are much more cheaper than printed books. Besides, readers can find free e-books in the Internet easily. Second criteria is buying process, if you want to buy printed book you should go to book store or waiting the parcel. But if you are user of e-reader, everywhere is bookstore, you can purchase the book from the Internet, download and read it. Lastly, e-reader provides ease of use to readers. E-readers are user friendly because it comes from different features. These are very small and lightweight, so readers can take it wherever they want. To sum up, e-readers are more accessible than printed books. Other argument’s is “e-readers provides extra features than printed books”. E-readers are suitable for reading in different circumstances. Firstly, you can change size of words and brightness, so it helps for eyes. E-ink technology does not tire the eyes. With a backlight, you can read at night easily. If you download a dictionary in your e-reader, you can learn the meaning by pressing of the word. Additionally, some readers have earphone output, thus you can read your book. Secondly, e-readers helps your research. When you want to find a notion, you can easily find that with using a e-reader. If you want to take a notes on your book, you do not need a pen, only use your touchscreen. Although it has many features, its charges lasts for a very long time. In essence, e-readers provides different features, it enhance your quality of reading. Last argument is “e-readers are eco friendly than printed books”. E-readers keep the environment and save the planet. Every year, 15. 8 billion trees have been saved by digital books. E reader that only has 8 gb storage, save 5000 books space in the earth. Using e readers reduce carbon footprint’s. Every printed book leaves 250g-1kg carbon to earth bu e-books leaves less than printed books. All in all, e-reader helps us to save our planet. On the other hand, many readers use printed books, they find more comfortable and tactile it. Readers of printed books love feel the book. Also, they find books smell’s are good, more nostalgic. Printed book readers use the books to socialize. They go to library for learning different things. They think, taking notes on the book helps learn new things easily. In short, printed books may be nostalgic or feels better but e-books have more specialities and it is better for our planet. All in all, e books readers arguments can be listed that more accessibility, extra features and eco-friendly. On the other hand, printed books readers arguments are, feels nostalgic, helps to socialize and taking notes on book helps your learning. Printed books readers arguments are more emotional and dramatic, overall e-readers have mora advance than printed books.