Devadhasan et al reported a disposable hydrogel

Devadhasan et al reported a disposable hydrogel test strip consisting of titanium nanoparticles, PVA hydrogels, and chemical pH-responsive indicators to detect toxic gases such as hydrogen fluoride (HF), chlorine (Cl₂), ammonia (NH₃), and formaldehyde (CH₂O). Colorimetric detection based on color change of dyes, four types of chemically reactive indicators; Bromophenol blue (BPB), green bromocresol (BCG), purple bromocresol (BCP), and red chlorophenol (CPR) were used to acid-base reactions with a detection limit of 1 ppm. Because PVA hydrogels shrink easily and swell in the presence of alkaline or acidic compounds, glutaraldehyde was used as the crosslinking agent in the PVA hydrogel film, because the glutaraldehyde bonding agent prevents the strips from structural changes during the acid/base reaction. This hydrogel sensor array also does not respond to changes in relative humidity because glutaraldehyde is used as a crosslinking agent, it can protect the structure of PVA hydrogel film against 95% moisture without swelling and shrinkage. In addition, TiO₂ NP was used to make the hydrogel film, which improved the opacity of the test strip, which can pass light continuously and uniformly through the hydrogel film. Therefore, TiO₂ mixed PVA hydrogel strips are suitable for detecting toxic gases because they allow the light intensity to be uniform. In addition, they demonstrated the potential of the TiO₂ NPs blended chip to monitor pH-sensitive. In addition, the catalytic effect of TiO₂ causes a rapid reaction and produces a solid color. Test strips are able to absorb moisture without swelling and shrink the structure. Therefore, changes in humidity do not affect the performance of hydrogel test strips, and this array of hydrogel colorimetric sensors can be used for a variety of applications, and this smartphone-based gas detection system will be a convenient and sensitive device in the modern world [351].