Due to the development of the internet, public libraries are no longer necessary.

It is argued that as the usage of the internet is growing rapidly, public libraries are completely useless. This essay totally disagrees with that because public libraries are always reliable and socially important matter. The First reason why public libraries are vital that it is their reliability. It is irrefutable that as digital technologies are becoming advanced, more and more people are dependent on the internet which made easier the way of people’s life. Online libraries are not an exception that most people use to read e-books not only to get entertained, but, also for the research of their academic purposes. However, online resources cannot be used as a reliable source because one may get false information as the internet is not able to filter false information, but public libraries can store the most reliable information since the publication of books is checked thoroughly by publishers which make them more reliable than the internet resources. As an example, “The Lord of the Flies” by William Golding was rejected 21 times before it had been published. Hence, it seems to me that public libraries are still essential to be preserved. Another reason is that public libraries are the best way to keep in touch with the people who have much in common. These days the ubiquity of social networking sites is prone to take people’s precious time, which may eventually lead to isolation from the society. While, Public libraries serve as a provision of gathering place in person. What I mean here is that if citizens interact with each other who have the same interests, they will have a sense of community. Furthermore, it is likely that the youth can improve their social skills which is necessary attribute to apply for a job in the future by attending to the libraries. Therefore, it does make sense to have libraries. In conclusion, I believe that libraries are more useful than the internet to provide resources which are trustworthy and make people more sociable.