Due to the development of digital technology, it is now possible for viewers to see historical artifacts and artistic works on computers. Although this renders museums and art halls obsolete from the perspective of some people, there are more compelling reasons as to why these are still the best venues to view the aforementioned objects.

Convenience is the major reason why many prefer to have these items displayed by a computer. This can be seen in art and history lessons at school, where teachers can easily show students an artwork or artifact using a projector connected to a school workstation. Students, in this way, may learn about the items exhibited anywhere in the world without having to travel a long distance. Art and history enthusiasts, in addition to this, may use their laptop computers to store the images and videos of their favorite objects as multimedia files. They may then conveniently play these files wherever and whenever they want. The statement that museums and art centers are unnecessary in today's world, nevertheless, is an exaggeration. One possible reason is that some objects displayed in these places are not only available for viewing but also for touching and sometimes even trying, which cannot be performed when seeing an object on a computer screen. An excellent example of this is the interactive artistic toys which can perform tricks, currently exhibited at Art and Science Museum in Singapore, a kind of museum for contemporary art. Another significant reason is that items of artistic and historical significance shown by digital technology have a maximum resolution according to file size. This means the digital format of them, regardless of file media type, cannot convey as much information to the viewers as the real objects do. In conclusion, despite the ease in showing and viewing artworks and relics with the assistance of computers, the role of museums and galleries of art is indispensable, in a sense that those who visit these venues may enjoy art and history in such a way that cannot be replicated by digital devices. It is predicted that these places will continue to attract visitors in the future.