Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

There are some countries where we can observe dynamic growth of the number of superstores. That phenomenon has influence on local traders who have to fight with usually bigger and stronger competitors. From some point of view that situation has negative impact on the local society. From my perspective this viewpoint is quite justifiable. Firstly, most supermarkets are part of a large multinationals which are in charge of more than one outlet. That is why supermarkets are unbeatable. Big companies are able to negotiate wholesale prices of the products with suppliers. In/As consequence, they can offer a consumer a lower price for the same product than local shops. What is more, their offer is more various than local shops because primarily consumers can choose from wider range of the product from different manufacturers and they have opportunities to buy everything under one roof. Secondly, a local shop often provides a livelihood for more than one generation of the family. The need to compete with a stronger entity on the market will most likely result in bankruptcy of a small business. Former traders have to cope with stressful situation trying to find a new job. In economic and social term, this is one of the examples of the death of the local community. To sum up, the discussed market trend has enormous impact on local society because it significantly changes customers’ behaviors and the way they make a living. In my opinion, despite the free-market, governments should protect local communities by advising how to change the business profile of local entrepreneurs who make a loss due to this trend.