Advance in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labour. Therefore working hours should be reduced.

Nowadays we observe enormous advance in technology and automation which has large influence to the need for manual laboure. First of all, machines are more efficient than people work. They can produce more in shorter time. Greater efficiency is due to the fact that machines do not need brake and machines work is continues. What is more, machines do not have social needs like holidays, leaves and benefits. These additional social elements have large influence to working hours perfect example is paid leave which is guarantee by law. This leave takes at least twenty-one working day a year in Poland. During this time employee do not work but receive salary. Above argument leads to the next issue, cost of machines work is lower than manual laboure. The cost of machine is one – time but cost of people work is constant. If the entrepreneur hires an employee, he must bear the costs related to his employment, such as training, clothing, taxes, social security. However, it needs to be highlighted that machines cannot work without people. Every machine is attended on human. Furthermore, people have to have a job because it is the only way to get financial security. Therefore, advance in technology and automation change the laboure market and one of the changes should be reduced of working hours. Working hours was reduced since the stream machines was invented in the eighteenth century. Before this event, people worked 14 hours a day. Nowadays we are witnessing major technological changes facilitating work, which should contribute to the reduction of man’s working time.