Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities.

In this day and age, some people believe the increasing in big supermarket number will cause the closure of small shops, consequently leading to the death of local business based activities in the near future. I partially agree with this statement. I personally believe that a reason for this issue lies in the great variety of products people can find in a supermarket, as a consequence of globalization and open markets. Generally, the same items are rarely available in small business. According to my experience abroad as a student, I could remember that I used to buy pasta or other Italian products in a big supermarket, since they were readily available there and not in small shops. Another cause for the low competition between supermarkets and local shops is their different working time: while the latter is usually closed during lunch time or on the weekends, in the last years, more and more supermarkets have adopted the no-stop working time. Indeed, this allows people to purchase what they desire even at night or on Sunday. On the other hand, I think that the quality of items you bring at home is crucial and, more often than not, the quality of supermarkets’ products is not as higher as the one you can find in a small business. For this reason, when I go abroad as a tourist, I prefer to purchase traditional products from local shops. This choice makes possible to sustain small business communities and workers and it is a quality mark of the product. All in all, although it is true that the rapid development of supermarkets makes difficult the survive of small activities, it is also clear that the latter could compete with big shops adopting a quality market specialized on some items that are difficult to be found elsewhere, among which organic or home-made products.