Due to population growth many people these days live in apartments with limited space and no outdoor areas. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

Living in apartments, which is the choice of the majority of people, is a direct reflection of cities’ phenomenal growth, and due to this fact less Indoor and outdoor space are provided to residents. In my opinion, although this modern trend has several negative aspects its advantages are more. On the plus side, apartment living proceeds from the urban population have had obvious benefits. It assists in reduce the cost of living. While landlords charge exorbitant rents, people can economize by renting an apartment because of its’ affordable rent. And not only is it lower in comparison with houses, but the maintenance cost is almost nothing. Most of them, are supported by a maintenance team and if something goes wrong with a dishwasher, for instance, they will come and fix it without any need for additional payments. Additionally, apartment dwellers are liberated from safety worries as that in a big complex are usually protected with a gated system; or even security officers hired to monitor it, and to record every person that goes in and out of the building. On the flip side, apartment living has its downside. Firstly, almost a large number of them are smaller than houses so they contain fewer rooms and children have to use the shared room that can create some problems in terms of privacy. These problems are exacerbated when children reach puberty since they want to spend time with their friends without being disturbed and it will be impossible when they do not have own room. External space is limited as well as interior and it means residents do not have a private garden or yard for doing some outdoor activities such as gardening or playing. In conclusion, what is evident is that despite weaknesses, apartment living is a positive shift. This is mainly because even people with low income can afford to rent it.