Some people think that space exploration is a waste of resource while others think that it is essential for mankind to continue to explore the universe in which we live.

Some people argue that exploring space involves too much investment and time, while others think it is required for mankind’s survival. In this essay, I will discuss both views and express my opinion. Space research requires huge amounts of money which can be invested for meeting the basic needs of the people. Countries like Somalia are unable to fulfill the basic needs of their citizens. Food, clothing and shelter form a primary need for the mankind and these should take precedence before any other development. Therefore, it is important to satisfy the primitive needs before spending money on exploration of universe. Developed countries should help the poor countries to build these amenities instead of spending on space. On the other hand, it also seems important to research the planets and the universe. If we had not done enough research on space, we would not have found about the ozone depletion and annual rise in earth’s temperature. Because of this research we had the opportunity to learn more about the planet we live in, and plan to safeguard the Earth from unexpected disasters. Also, space research has helped us to understand the nature and the precautions we should take for natural calamities. To conclude, even though space research provides significant knowledge about our planet and the universe, I think we should initially spend on delivering basic needs of the people. Once adequate funds are allocated for this, we can then look into space research and explore more about the galaxies.