The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on other planets. Some people think that government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of public. To what extent do you agree?

Universe is always a very mysterious thing to human. Although science and technology have highly developed, whether or not there is life on other planets is still a big question. While the government is using lots of funds to discover this, some people opine that instead of wasting money on this project, the government should spend more money addressing the problems of public. Personally, I believe that both discovering life on other planets and solving public matters are significant. In the first place, space research brings people plentiful benefits in the long run. People can enrich their knowledge and curiosity about other life forms. In addition, by researching planets, scientists are capable of working out key for overpopulation problem. For instance, after discovering Mars as well as its condition, maybe, in the near future, human will settle in this planet and living on Mars might be no longer a science-fiction story. Furthermore, the more people know about the universe, the better they understand themselves. Seeing the harsh weather of other planets which can not allow anybody to live, people will appreciate their lives on the Earth. Therefore, they will together protect the big home. On the other hand, human are facing many difficult problems on the Earth. Famine, social evils and natural disasters occur with increasing frequency and need tackling thoroughly. That is why people opine that government should spend money addressing these problems first in lieu of paying attention to space research. Moreover, illiteracy is considered as the biggest enemy of people all around the world. Thus, it seems to be very wasteful to invest capital in space projects while people are struggling with illiteracy to improve their qualifications. To sum up, the government ought to consider what they should do so that both discovering life on planets and tackling problems on the Earth are arranged reasonably.