Due the advancement in computer technology the trend of working from home will bring a dramatic change to people’s lives. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your opinion and examples.

One of the issues faced by people living in foreign land is the language barrier, which can be challenging in some aspects. I somewhat agree with the statement in question. Many social problems arise due to this, but because of advancements in technology, this is not as big a problem practically as it used to be up until a few years ago. Since language is a fundamental part of communication, a barrier makes it difficult to interact with people in a society. Adjusting in an unfamiliar place requires human interaction and bonding. This cannot be fully achieved if a communication gap exists. For instance, in my country Pakistan where Urdu is spoken, foreigners have a hard time making friends, having interpersonal relationships with colleagues etc. And until they learn the native language, this social awkwardness can be very troublesome for them. Therefore, there is no doubt that social problems do arise because of language dissimilarity when living abroad. Innovations in technology have really helped in overcoming the problems faced by people living in a country where a foreign language is spoken. Nowadays, smart phones can be used to translate almost any word or phrase. Though a little time consuming, there are multiple apps which provide us with accurate translations along with audio to avoid pronunciation errors. Social media apps like Facebook also have multiple language options. Thus, a person’s everyday activities are not hindered if such tools are used efficiently. To conclude, having to speak a foreign language can be socially problematic because of the communication gap. However, technological advancements have minimized the practical day-to-day issues.