Drug use among people has always happened, however, young people today are now using drugs at very early ages.

Drug use among people has always happened, however, young people today are now using drugs at very early ages. This essay will examine the main causes and effects of widespread drug use among youths today and possible solutions to this probelm. The two main causes of drug use among young people are peer pressure and family. Younger people are very impressionable and oftentimes make decisions based on what their friends say. For example, a teenager is likely to get influenced by his friends at school to try a substance. Likewise, a family of drug users or addicts will result in drug use by the young ones. A child who comes from a home where his relatives use illegal drugs is more likely to carry out the same behaviour. Thus, the influence of family and friends play a role in substance use by the youth. Some effects of this widespread use include drug dependence and behavioural problems. Continuous drug abuse by youngsters can lead to dependence on drugs to be able to function and carry out daily activities. Another common effect of drug use is behavioural problems. Many teenagers who abuse drugs end up with issues like anxiety and depression. Some possible solutions to this problem are awareness about the dangers of drug abuse and parents fostering good relationships with their children. By informing the younger population of the dangers of drug abuse, we can prevent them from engaging in it. Moreover, parents maintaining a good relationship with their children will help keep them on the right track. To conclude, the influence of family and friends leads to drug abuse among the youth and in turn, it causes drug dependence, and behavioual problems. However, we can lessen this problem by enlightening the youngsters about the dangers and encouraging parents to foster good relationsips with their children.