Drug addiction has became a social problems in many societies. What is its impact on society and how this issue can be addressed? State your views with reasons and examples.

Drug abuse, a bane on society, has been in existence from time immemorial. It’s negative impact on individual and society is so complex that most of the remedial measures taken by the governments have became futile. To prevent drug abuse and to fight drug related crimes, authorities across the world, have been spending huge amounts of money. It is certain that this issue cannot be addressed without interference by the political parties, stringent punishments and Campaigning. This essay will analyse some of the effects of the drug abuse on the society and suggestions to palliate this perennial Problem. To begin with, Drug abuse is a significant factor which is having a devastating impact on the society. Effects such as medical and psychological are too obvious that these cannot be disregarded. Drug Addicts, to exemplify, Cannot function as a normal person irrespective of the fact they are healthy or not. Their families usually becomes victims of abuse, eventually require expensive treatments. Moreover, the effect of crime is the second factor which is contributing for the noxious effect on the society due to drug addictions. To palliate smuggling and crimes which are related with drug dealings, government authorities are required with proper coordination with civilians of nation. Irrefutably, Mafia underworld and gangs of criminals flourish with the revenue generated by the smuggling of drugs. However, the menace of drugs can be fought. The first step is to educate the society with negative effects of drugs. Curriculum, to exemplify should be designed in such a way that students are taught about the negative impact of drug abuse in schools and colleges. In addition to it, awareness campaigns should be conducted by the statutory authorities and NGOs, to educate both the young and the old alike. Another step is to implement existing rules and to enact new rules for the proper execution of law and order. Nevertheless, counselling staff should be appointed And the presence should be made known to the usage of drugs. Teachers and parents should make students responsible for their misbehaviour done under the influence of drugs. As unemployment also is one of the reason of drug addiction, Every steps should be taken to ensure that employment opportunities and rehabitation are given the required priority. To put it in a nutshell, although the issue of drug abuse might appear to be disturbing problem, it can be solved with combined efforts of the governments, academicians, statutory authorities, And public with civic sense. If all these bodies are united in their efforts, the issue of drug abuse can be addressed effectively.