Drivers should be charged for using roads linking major towns and cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree this statement?

Travelling has increased dramatically in the past few years. People who drive in the roadways ought to pay for utilizing the roads connecting main urban areas. Personally, I disagree with the statement and this essay will discuss my opinion in detail. Firstly, it greatly affects the local people living nearby the toll plaza. In other words, residents in those areas who might travel for a short distance daily, let's say, for a job are affected. It is unjustifiable to charge them as they have to use those roads routinely. Hence, drivers must be excluded from paying in toll. Secondly, as goods vehicles are charged extra, it indirectly affects costs of the products. Lorries and trucks are charged high in almost all tolls. Therefore, most of the vendors increase the rate of the goods especially vegetables as it is already expensive because of transporting it from long distance. Such tolls are in one way responsible for the price of the goods, so the idea of charging drivers must be withdrawn. In contrast, developing and maintaining the infrastructure of the roads need funds. It is of great importance that, the roads joining important towns and cities must be in good condition in order to sustain frequent usage and it is common that climate changes will result in damages to roads. If the roads were constructed in good quality, we would not need frequent maintenance. In conclusion, disadvantages of tariffs for using roads outweigh the pros of it. Personally, I assume tolls must be kept only for security reasons, and drivers should not be charged for using the roads. Governments should take necessary actions to build quality roads instead of imposing high tariffs on the drivers and passengers.