does your personality change as you get older?

Our age affects our personality, the older we get the more mature we become. Our personality is shaped by time and we change. I partly agree with this statement and will express my opinion in the following paragraphs. It has been proved by psychologists that there are five traits of personality known as The Big Five personality traits: extraversion, agreeableness, openness, conscientiousness, and neuroticism. We are born with these features and they remain relatively stable throughout most of one’s lifetime. They are influenced significantly by both genes and the environment. This means that we do not form our personality through age or experience. Also, most human beings are born with certain innate personality traits, such as determining whether we are outgoing or introverted, optimistic or pessimistic, credulous or sceptical. It is believed that these are coded into our DNA and have been a part of us since before birth, so it is quite difficult to change them. However, we can observe how people change over time due to the events in their life. Major traumatic events may influence our life perspectives. There are countless examples of optimistic young people going to war or being in a tragic accident and then turning into bitter, cynical, and withdrawn people. Thus their personality was changed by external factors. Besides, we can learn from our mistakes and try to become better versions of ourselves. This is why elderly people are recognised for their wisdom. When you listen to the stories of older people, you can observe how they have changed since their young ages. In conclusion, our personality is shaped both with internal and external factors. It is hard to find which one has a more significant impact but surely they both are responsible for who we are.