DOES SOCIAL MEDIA HARM RELATIONS

Hook: In a world of logrithms, hashtags and followers know the true importance of human connection. Thesis Statement: Social media is a social platform which is making people anti-social. We’ve become so engrossed in technology and media, that at times we become quite oblivious to our surrounding. Introduction: In less than a generation, social media has evolved from direct electronic information exchange. It is the 21st-century marketing tool. Supporting Paragraphs: 1: Smart phones and online social media networks have destroyed relationship and communication between friends and family members. Social media has reduced the rejoice of family gatherings. The users are so addicted to social media that they are inseparable from their phones. People who are always online and active on social media are not mentally available for their family to communicate. They don’t take any interest in family gatherings showing no affection and love in the surroundings even if they are sitting together. This over-usage is the prime cause of gaps between family relationships. “Family is the most important thing in the world. ” -Princess Diana The youngsters do not pay much attention to their parents if they try to tell them to avoid often use of social media. They use social media and try to be in isolation so that they don’t have to listen to advice from parents. The parents in return think that they don’t understand the dimensions of modern social media and technology, therefore, they should not disturb their children. This mindset and misperception resulting from social media have created isolation from family especially in children and parents who do not use or understand social media. 2. The increased use of social media has also increased the divorce rate among couples. A study has found that a 20% annual increase in Facebook enrolment was associated with a 2. 18% to 4. 32% increase in divorce rate. Social media has changed the dynamic of every relation. 3. The use of social media among youth has increased so much from recent times. According to reports, there are 3. 5 billion active users of social media around the globe and 90% of users are youngsters. It means that almost every family today is having at least one social media wizard or witch in their home. This increased use of social media has destroyed communications. People think that as long as they have phones they have no need of face to face communication and this sometimes can result in major conflicts and enemity. All in all, as the social media use is increasing our contact with family and friends is decreasing. Counter Argument: The opponents say that internet and social media is one of the greatest intervention which has brought a lot of advantages like it’s a good source of knowledge, it has constricted the distances, and expand the relationships. They say that it is a good medium for artists and the use of social media depends on how you use it. Refude: Excess of everything is bad and this increased use of social media has made everyone nomophobic everyone is so indulged in phones that they don’t know what exactly is going around them. This social media is bringing people closer to us who are far away but, it is taking us away from those who are sitting next to us. Conclusion: From the above discussion it’s concluded that social media affect relationships by reducing face to face communication and interactions. It should be used to improve relations by limiting its use. Life needs to give attention over the people you are with instead of scrolling memes and posts. Erik Qualman says: “We should not let social media engagement destroy precious family relationships. ”