“Intelligence is innate OR can be improved through learning”

Intelligence is the ability to do the work effectively. Many consider intelligence as an inherited blessing and some believe that intelligence can be acquired by learning. Let’s explore all dimensions and conclude to the true observation. Like most aspects of human behavior and cognition, intelligence is a complex trait that is influenced by both genetic and environmental factors. Intelligence is challenging to study, in part because it can be defined and measured in different ways. Most definitions of intelligence include the ability to learn from experiences and adapt to changing environments. Elements of intelligence include the ability to reason, plan, solve problems, think abstractly, and understand complex ideas. Many studies rely on a measure of intelligence called the intelligence quotient (IQ). There are certainly some innate aspects to intelligence. That explains why children taught in the same class acquire different grades. Another interesting aspect of intelligence is that people have different skills or aptitude. For instance, some people have a natural flair for writing, singing or drawing. They can excel in these areas even if they do not receive formal training. Some students can solve arithmetic sums more easily and there are also children who have a natural aptitude for science. What’s more, although a number of people study science or arts, only a handful of them emerge as successful scientists or artists. Obviously, they have certain skills that others do not possess and that probably explains why intelligence is innate. People with the view of intelligence being inherited often give the argument that the nature and IQ of a person is dependent on the DNA which comes from parents. As an example, Albert Einstein, world's most celebrated physicist, had an excellent IQ and did some wonderful innovations. His son also inherited these qualities and had a very high IQ. Hence, it can be said that it is innate. On the flip side, there are certainly some aspects of intelligence that can and should be acquired and developed. For example, just because someone is born ‘intelligent’ there is no guarantee that they will achieve great things in life. In almost all cases, they need training and practice. If intelligence was truly an innate quality, there would be no need for this training. There are also examples of many people who became great success in their life in spite of getting poor grades in school. Their intelligence certainly is not ‘innate’. Rather it is something they acquired through learning and practice. Moreover, having smart ancestors is not the only way to be smart. One can achieve any milestone in this world with passion, hard work and a positive attitude. Learning makes, a person, immensely knowledgeable. Therefore, the knowledge gained, through immense hard work, can be utilized, in situations of dire necessity. For example, a person having natural flair, towards the sports can become, an improved athlete, by getting technical instructions from a professional coach. Thus, learning is quintessential for becoming wise. An intelligent person, would become successful, in handling things, only when the understanding of, various things is nurtured continuously. As, an illustration, invention of the bulb, was done by an intelligent man after undergoing a thorough study of science. For example, a smart student may finish a tough assignment easily, but a mediocre student can also finish the assignment by hard work and passion. If the inheritance was the only way, then this world would have been divided into intelligent and dull people. No child of farmer would have become a scientist. For instance, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, son of a poor farmer, fought all the odds became a renowned scientist. To conclude, after analyzing both sides of the argument, it is not hard to see that the intelligence is both innate and acquired. All of us are born with certain levels of intellect. If an intelligent person is born in a conducive environment and receive adequate levels of external stimuli they can produce outstanding results. At the same time, someone born with only average levels of intelligence can also achieve great things through learning and hard work. There are good chances that children of smart ancestors will be smart, but a child can acquire intelligence irrespective of having intelligent parents or having parents with mediocre IQ. People gained massive acknowledgement, not because of inherent talent but due to their hard work and constant efforts. If a person had the passion and pure desire, he can achieve anything in the world including knowledge. Hard work, dedication and learning are the building blocks of success.