Does history have any value or not in today's world?

It is often argued that history has no significance in the modern world, while others feel that there are variety of things to learn from the past. In my opinion, history plays a pivotal role in gaining many perspectives and should be preserved. This essay will consider both the viewpoints and few examples to support the opinions. To embark on it, there are few things which can be removed from history chapters as they do not fit in the contemporary world. For instance, the history of computers. Nowadays, the computers and technology has evolved so much that last five decades of evolution of computers and their specifications are a mere waste of time. Instead, starting with modern computers and making advancements in them is a better idea. Another key factor is that historical monuments take a lot of effort and time to preserve them. Additionally, take up plenty of money from governments. In the contrary, this money can be put into better use such as education and health care facilities. Having said that, history teaches people about values and culture, which are eroding day by day. Its keeps the individuals rooted and familiarizes them about their ancestors. Moreover, it also is an eye opener about mistakes done in the past and how they can be avoided in the future. To illustrate, the past pandemics have taught people a lot and those mistakes are being avoided at the best with covid pandemic today. In conclusion, it can be stated that no doubt there are certain factors in which history does not fit into modern world, however, from my perspective, history can teach people plethora of things with which masses can learn, grow and rise everyday and make a better future.