Does giving to charity help reduce poverty, or does it make the problem worse?

Owing to the materialization of modern societies, most countries have been encountering the issue of poverty, solving inequality as well as tackling the poverty index. Some people believe that providing charity might improve the situation, while other critics dispute that it can help nothing but just worsen the problem. This essay aims to elaborate on both opposed views and give my opinion finally. On one hand, there is a common belief that a number of donation funds or organizations could assist those needy communities to sustain their life with fundamental standards, enhancing the quality of life away from the red line. Food banks, for example, are able to provide healthy and adequate food sources to ensure the elementary needs of those needy families for survival, especially for the growth of their children. As a result, the supporters claim that there is a necessity of establishing diverse charity funds to comprehensively subsidize all people who are living under the poverty line. On the other hand, the opponents argue that those subsidy schemes provided by the charity will have created a self-satisfied sentiment in several lacking people, hindering any improvement for individuals and worsening the poverty situation. In view of a sense of satisfaction after obtaining a charity subsidy, those receivers might lack the motivation to genuinely seek a job. Taking childcare subsidy, for instance, a growing number of people would have acknowledged it as nonsense to work at the rate of the legal minimum wage if they had received much money from the child benefits scheme. To sum up, the supporting view for offering charity to reduce poverty issue is that it could help for sustaining the survival of those people. On the contrary, the opposing argument recognizes that it may induce a complacent sense to lower the motivation of the poor population being financially independent. Therefore, I personally recommend providing charity wisely, avoiding those impoverished people excessively dependent on those charity funds but consequently looping within the circumstances of poverty.