Does family play the most significant role in children’s development or media and culture are the main factors?

Family plays such a crucial role in children's lives that no one can deny it. The key question at this issue is, whether family plays the most significant role in children's development or media and culture are the main factors? Indeed, achieving the best answer, this matter is to be considered in a broader context which we will discuss here. On the one hand, it is naively believed that media and culture are the most essential parts in children's development owing to the changing in lifestyle and increasing in accessing to media. In fact, one reason given for that is, nowadays both parents are working, therefore paternal interactions with children diminished; consequently, children's rapport with peers increases. Thus external factors such as media, books, TV as well as culture become the main elements in children's development. This is, however, countered by the notion that all above mentioned factors affect children at older ages, while psychologists believe that first years of every human life are the most crucial years which could shape all the characters of them. Clearly, the view is not effective and should be considered thoroughly. On the other hand, it is popularly believed that due to the fact that family is the initial society of children, it is the main factor that influences them. The fact of the matter is, parents and family members are the first role models of every child. Also values are transmitted by family. Not only does family influence children socially, but also it influences them biologically. The characteristics convey through parents to children could determine their future path unconsciously. The contrasting view is, children are exposing to media, TV, and books or attend kindergarten from the very low age, reducing family's effects; nevertheless monitoring, controlling and selecting proper media and books, the problem can easily be solved. In my point of view, family is the most notable element in children's lives. By and large, socially influential as media and culture are, nothing could be substituted for family. Indeed, family's effects on children are permanent. As a result, due to the fact that family is very essential, we should pay more attention to this very important factor to have developed children as well as society.