Doctors recommend that older people should get regular exercise. However, many older people do not take enough exercise

Medical practitioners suggest that senior citizens must do daily physical activity. However, there is a number of people who do not follow the recommendation. This essay will consider why they do not follow the advice and what strategies can be undertaken to motivate them to heed the recommendations of the medical profession. To begin with, there are two main reasons why senior citizens are not likely to perform physical activities. First, people abstain from doing exercise due to fear of injury because it is a fact that elder people going to be weaker. That is one of the main reason why there are discouraged to do any physical activity. To cite an example from my personal experience, my grandfather sprained his ankle when he went for a morning walk last year. Therefore, that incident left him with some trauma. Secondly, due to the age of the person, it is possible that they have lost confidence in their ability to exercise. It is caused by the elderly person’s perception that they are no longer fit enough to try exercising. For instance, people in their old age do not try new sports or new exercise trends because they think they will not have the energy to do that. There are two possible strategies to motivate them. The ministry of health should provide personal trainers to encourage the elderly to overcome their lack of confidence. By treating the elderly with compassion and respect they should be able to gain their trust. This will enable them to come up with a personalized plan for each person, in order to get them out exercising. Their family or relatives should educate the elderly about the benefits of physical activity. By encouraging them to include it as a component of their pain management program. In conclusion, senior citizens are unlikely to undertake exercise because of fear of injury and lack of confidence. The ministry of health should provide personal trainers to devise individualized plans for each person and they should be educating the elderly about the benefits of physical activity. However, I also recommend that perhaps their family and relatives ask the elderly by themselves.