Do you think single-use plastic (straws, bags, food containers) should be banned? Why or why not?

From my perspective, single-use plastic manufactured to last forever poses a significant threat to our world, so human beings should say no to this material. First of all, single-use plastic has a detrimental effect on the environment. When this compound is exposed to sunlight, hazardous chemicals including methane and ethylene are released. According to CIEL, plastics manufacture and incineration produced more than 850 million metric tons of greenhouse gases into the air in 2019, which is a significant contributory factor to climate change. Besides the environment, it also causes human health problems and animal deaths. Some aquatic creatures confuse plastic bags for food when looking for food. As a consequence, animals with plastic-filled stomachs have no desire to eat and die of malnutrition. Moreover, microplastics have been found in a number of species. Certain types of seafood are absorbed into the human body when consumed. From this, people's health can be harmed, making them vulnerable to digestive ailments, cancer, and other illnesses. Last but not least, disposable plastic also poses a threat to the economy. According to the UN agency’s statistics, plastic waste causes $13 billion in annual damage to marine habitats, including losses in the fishing and tourist sectors and the expense of cleaning beaches. As a result of the two effects that I have mentioned, governments and society will definitely spend a considerable amount of money on the environment and health issues. In conclusion, due to devastating consequences, so it is time for each individual to take action by stopping using single-use plastic in order to save our planet.