Do You Think News Media Is Important in Our Society. Why is it so important? Do you think its influence is generally positive or negative?

News channels are playing a vital role in human’s life. Watching news, in this modern era, has become eminent among all people. Although there are various reasons behind this approach, its positive and negative impacts cannot be ignored, which will be explained/ discussed further. One of the major benefits to watch news channels is, people can access the recent updates not only about their local community but also worldwide. To elaborate, these news sources come with updates in all the fields, for example, they share health tips in starting of the day and followed by international updates. If these information sources are not available then life will be isolated from world. A study reveals that the commoners, who regularly watch media channels, are more active and up-to-date than others. Additionally, it plays a role of bridge between government and the local authority. As when want to highlight their issue/problems in front of concerned authorities and it is impossible to reach directly then media/ helps to raise their voice; therefore, to become aware about surrounding and worldwide, watching news is extremely important. On the other hand, there are few negative points for these means of communication. Firstly, sometimes they broadcast confidential information which breaches the national security. For instance, in 2011, one of the eminent news reporters had shown live telecast of terrorist attack at The Mumbai ‘Taj Hotel’. This secret information was used by the sleeper’s cell leader and he guided their terrorists accordingly. As a result, country had lost their brave soldiers in attack. Beside this, these channels publish fake news to increase their TRP, since the main purpose of the news channel is to gain ground by increasing their viewers; hence, use of these media reports not always beneficial. In conclusion, although watching news is helpful to make multitudes aware about all things, many news are not true even sometimes unsafe for nation security too. That is why, in my option, there should be restriction or penalty on the broadcasting of wrong updates.