Do you think it is better for students to work before their university study? Why? Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

Nowadays taking a year gap to work between high school and university is becoming extremely popular among certain students. I personally think it is a great idea to have working experiences prior to the university. This essay will discuss about the reasons with some explanation and example. One of the major advantages of doing this is that the students will know the value of money and they can even contribute some of their earnings to the tuition fees. By working for at least one year, one will eventually know things do not come free and you have to work hard for it. This small change in the mindset itself is a plus point. Taking about the tuition fees, we are already aware of that fact that the university fees are really expensive and some parents may not be able to fund for their children’s higher studies. If the students pay up at least half of the fees, it won’t be a huge burden for their parents and the studies will not be affected as well. Another positive point of working before university is that there will be many opportunities for the students after graduation. Because they already have some working experience, the employers will prefer them over those who are completely new in this working environment. Moreover, they will eventually develop some social skills, know work ethics and will be more punctual as well. If you have develop some communication skills, it will not only help in your job but also in the university as you will be able to make new friends easily, will be more confidence in front of the teacher. Furthermore, it will also help in your academic studies as well. For example, a student who have worked as a cashier, and later chose accounting as a major subject, then he will definitely do very well in his studies as he already have some practical experience. In conclusion, the trend of taking a suitable job before going for higher studies is really good and will have a huge positive impact on the students’ life in a long term.