Do you believe the benefits of a consumer society outweigh the disadvantages? Explain your answer

There is no doubt that consuming differs between societies and between individuals in the same society. Some people think that societies need to be consumer societies in order to develop. Others think otherwise. In this essay I will discuss both views and explain why consuming is essential and beneficial for the general public. Firstly, a society in which the buying and selling of goods and services is the most important social and economic activity is a thriving society because it means its economy is moving and there is purchasing power between the civilians, and that reflects directly on the living standard of the people. In fact, the governments usually issue incentives in the time of disasters to freshen the economy; most recent one is the stimulus check that are given to people in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Secondly, consuming create jobs to a huge portion of the society, directly and indirectly. If there is no one to buy certain product then there is no need to produce it in the first place. Hence, more buying and consuming equals more manufacturing and producing as a result more jobs. However, consuming profusely has its disadvantages. Most noticeably the environmental pollution and the global warming. Plastic is the most material produced and used in the products that are purchased, and it does not decompose overtime and harm the environment and the animals living in it. Another issue is the air pollution that is caused by the gases from the factories. In conclusion, consuming is a necessary activity in any society, it has its downside by affecting the environment, but the advantages in the economy that come with it outweigh those disadvantages.