Today's media (TV, Newspapers, magazines, for example) offer a lot of information on many topics, but people don't use this information to really learn something thoroughly and in de

I agree with the statement that the media provide a tremendous amount of information, but people do not really use this knowledge to fully understand a subject. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. First and foremost, most media outlets now are biased and they have their own agenda. As a result, many individuals do not trust the news or information broadcasted on these channels. In other words, a considerable number in the population just take what they hear on TV with a grain of salt. Almost every organization in this arena has proved that they serve a certain political or social purpose. Consequently, citizens cannot rely on the media to learn about a topic in a broad and scientific way. Take for example climate change issue, many networks devote enough time to inform the public about the dangers of global warming, such as the melting of ice sheets, rising of sea levels and food shortage that could happen. However, some people end up misinformed about this crucial matter. What' s more, those same people go on to deny altogether any increase in temperatures all over the world citing the cold weather in some areas. Secondly, the limits of time, in case of tv, and space, in case of magazines and newspapers, hinder the ability of these mass communication products to convey all the sides of an argument. Therefore, people could struggle to comprehend certain ideas. From the previous example, the media have failed to offer a detailed explanation for the evidences behind the climate change phenomenon. They could be advocating for switching to renewable energy and cutting carbon emissions. Nevertheless, the viewer is not yet convinced that they have to do something. this is mainly due to the fact that the covering is only superficial and does not help people to totally pick up the scientific theories behind this. To sum up, people consider today' s media unreliable source of knowledge that is not capable of allowing them to learn something thoroughly. This is because the lack of neutrality and the limitations on time and space that represent obstacles to achieving that goal.