One should never judge a person by its external appearance. Use specific details and reasons to support your answer.

“Beauty lies within the person and not outside” is a well-known phrase. It has a deeper meaning that need understanding from a broader perspective. Some people if asked would say that they judge a person by his or her external appearance tells a lot about a person. Whereas others believe in judging a person based on his or her internal characteristics. As far as I am concerned, I would place my belief in the latter option and I hold the following reasons in its support. Firstly, it’s important to consider that we scarcely get any idea about a person based on his peripheral appearance. So, it’s almost impossible to comment about a person true nature or character. A person is better known by his character, nature and the deeds he performs. For example, Gandhi ji only wore cotton clothes, which is the cheapest fabric, and looked very ordinary. But he has made a mark in the world by his virtues that he believed in such as non - violence. He is a renowned personality because he fought a war with British to bring India independence in a non- violent way. To quote another example, I have a friend she doesn’t dress very well, looks very shabby. She is not very appealing externally. However, she is the topper of our school the most intelligent girl and has won many accolades. Hence it is quite evident we cannot judge a person based on their external appearance. Secondly, a person should rest more significance to internal beauty rather than external beauty. By knowing someone closely a person can better understand the true nature of a person. A person is better to be judged by their nature because it is a better indicator of a someone’s personality. Lotus is the most beautiful flower in the world but it is born in the puddle. To quote an example, a person who doesn’t possess virtues like honesty, helpfulness, truthfulness is not a man of good moral, despite being endowed with beauty. Hence a person’s character builds his personality and character, not the outside beauty and appearance. In a nutshell, it can be concluded that external appearance is only an indicator of outside beauty. If one truly wants to Judge a person’s character, then he or she should look for the qualities that one possesses.