to improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors

Some say that studying the past has no benefits for those in present era. I totally disagree with this statement because somehow history helps us learn from our past and enables us to build our future based on existing inventions. To begin with, without out past, human evolution would never have happened. Undoubtedly, we are constantly innovating ourselves based on what we have learnt before. Furthermore, an individual is only able to perfect themselves once they learnt from their mistakes, eventually it enables them to make more informed decisions by reflecting on historical outcomes involving similar decisions and situations. For example, the Twin Tower in USA, has been reconstructed using specially designed materials and glasses that have the capacity to repel an aircraft from a distance of 2 kilometres. Another important aspect is that all our discoveries are always based on our past knowledge. Take for example our transport system; the light railways are made through our old fashioned charcoal fuelled trains where coal was burnt to release energy. Later, engineers have been able to apply the same basic principles to design more advanced trains, including the Metro, light railways and cables. If it weren't for the invention of those trains, these new systems would never have taken place. In conclusion, I believe that learning from the past is essential in our lives, as it prevents us from making past mistakes as well as helping us to make technological advancements based on those past inventions. Therefore, I also believe that history lessons should form part of our educational system.