The government should support artists rather than allow them to support themselves.

In this age of information and technology, the popularity of social media sites like Facebook and Twitter is growing rapidly. While some may be sceptical about its positive impact on the society, others believe it to be a boon in disguise as it empowers individuals to voice their opinion. My thinking regarding social media is that its misuse causes the spread of fake news and false propaganda and ultimately has a negative impact on our community. With the advent of handheld smartphones and fast internet connectivity, social media has gained a lot of fame. Some of its advantages include the ability of people to connect with others and share their life's experience and information online. For example, the social media website Facebook has millions of users, which share thousands of photos, videos, posts etc. Every minute. Also it helps individuals to raise their concerns, make opinions and provide suggestions and reach others through the virtual platform these social sites provides them with. However, this has also lead to the misuse of these powerful tools to spread misinformation. Due to the widespread of the social websites and with its millions of followers, proper regulation cannot be enforced over it to avoid misconduct by the users. Due to this, many fake news and false information are promoted over this sites. Some may also lead false propaganda and campaign against certain sections of the society causing disharmony in the community. Moreover, as many people get online, they tend to participate less in the community activities as they prefer to socialise online from the comfort of their house. This reduced participation causes people to live in isolation and prevent community development. In conclusion, the social media's primary disadvantage of aiding in the spread of fake news, information and propaganda outweighs its positive traits of being a free platform for people to meet and be heard by others and strongly state that it would badly hamper civilization. In my opinion, the inability to regulate these websites is the key reason for the spread of such untrue information.