Do the advantages of producing Gm [genetically modified] foods to feed the world population outweigh its disadvantages or not?

It has been at the centre of the attention that whether the advantages of producing Gm foods and providing the world population with them outweighs its disadvantages or not. Considering the current world wide situation, I think that producing Gm products is vital despite of its drawbacks. Some people contend that a certain shortcomings of Gm foods may lead to severe consequences. In order to intensively grow gm crops, some fertilisers, which are extremely hazardous for health, are added. As a result, consuming such products may lead certain health problems. For example, according to the last shocking statistics, 43 % of the regular consumers of genetically modified meals were diagnosed with solemn health issues particularly obesity and cancer. Therefore, they admit that such intensively produced foods might have a negative impact on humanity. On the other hand, stopping the production of such genetically changed crops would lead to even more serious consequences, but maintaining their production would have a big advantage. It is becoming more and more clear that unless a new way of quickly producing food is invented, a shortage of food continues to be an inexorable problem. This means that the vast majority of people especially in deprived countries in Africa would have to endure with the extreme hunger. However, the major advancements in food industry would avoid some unintended side effects which GM food has, making it's consumption completely safe. Thus, perhaps, introducing GM productions into food industry would be a feasible solution to lack of food. In conclusion, although gm foods may cause some serious problems for people, I firmly believe that such obstacles can be indeed eradicated and producing genetically modified food would be possible solution to even more burning issue.