Do the advantages of building home outweigh the disadvantages.

Due to the limited urban land, acquiring an apartment is perhaps a live long goal for many urban dwellers. In spite of being a prevalent ambition, it seems that the ideas the idea of residing in a concrete block is not appealing to everyone because there are both advantages and disadvantages to consider. Living in flats has some notable merits. First, they tend to less expensive than houses. To put this into perspective, an apartment with a floor space of 60 square meters from Vin Home in Long Bien District Hanoi is 3 times cheaper than a house of similar floor area in the same location. In addition to the low prices, residential buildings often include a range of amenities such as gyms, super markets as well as parks, which make these building appeal even more, especially to those who have limited financial capability. Notwithstanding the aforementioned benefits, there are several underlying drawbacks. According to a number of flat owners, the services provided in such areas are relatively more expensive than average. Fresh food for instance are sold at prices 1. 5 – 2 times higher than that sold at wet markets. Similarly, private schools adjacent to these areas have tuition fees of VND 6 million – VND 7 million per month, about triple the monthly fees in public schools. More importantly, a number of netizens are circulating a rumor that some apartments are prone to bribery and corruption during construction. This means owners might see their homes being degraded at an unexpected rate. Therefore, whilst it is undeniable that apartments are more affordable compared to other alternatives, by taking these factors into account, it is debatable whether the money being spent here is wise investment or not. In conclusion, I feel that buying flat is counter intuitive for those who wish to save money in the long run. A flat can be cheap at first, however the associated risks as well as the high living cost are just too significant to be outweighed.