Do national policies like “The War of Drugs” (which severely criminalize and punish the sales of drugs) harm or help addicts? What about poor communities? What about youth?

Nowadays, there has been a huge concern about an increasing level of drugs addiction among earth population. Statistics have shown that widespread national policy strategies against drugs start experience failure. However, it does not only create problems for underclass communities, it also influences younger generation. In my opinion, there should be a better approach to reduce the number of drags users, overwise the damage will rise. To begin with, drags spreading is considered to be one of the global issues. Therefore, it could be seen that most of the distributions happen in the poor areas. It occurs there due to the fact that citizens face a lack of work places. In other words, setting a new low against drags, authorities take the opportunity to earn some money for this group of individuals. If government would focus on reasons why drags is popular, there would be less demand on its production as well as consuming. Furthermore, there are other groups of people who are under the influence of using drugs. This is usually teenagers at the age of 16-20, who occupy about 60% of all drug addicts. Moreover, this number is growing every year which proves inefficiency of old governmental methods against this problem. Therefore, it could be better to launch certain social programs at schools, which would ensure children of consequences of using drugs. In my opinion, there should be certain punishment for distribution of drugs, although, it is essential to change people’s attitudes towards drugs. For instance, Nederland made a decision to legalize it in order to control the quality, at the same point as the world control alcohol. In conclusion, there are certain individuals who depend on this business due to the fact that government do not provide additional job opportunities for them. Additionally, the forbidden fruit is always sweet therefor drags have always attracted people, especially, adolescents. Therefore, governments should find modern approach to reduce demand.