Distance learning via the Internet has developed to such an extent in recent years that teachers and classrooms seem outdated and unnecessary. Schools, colleges and universities should abandon traditional teaching and deliver all their courses online.

Nowadays IT technologies are an inseparable part of people’s daily lives and learning is no exception. With the development of the Internet and mobile devices distant education and training have become immensely popular. As a result, classroom teaching, unless it is interactive, no longer seems to be attractive to students. However, it is doubtful that traditional learning will be completely replaced by distant one, at least not in the foreseeable future. Undoubtedly, distant learning has a number of benefits which cannot be overlooked. Firstly, it is extremely convenient for people with busy schedules who cannot afford to stop working in order to take a course. They can study online, whenever and wherever they feel like doing it, as long as there is a good internet connection and a mobile device. Secondly, online learners do not pay for transport and accommodation, which makes this kind of training less expensive but not less qualitative. Thirdly, for a large group of students, this is the only option to study and graduate. On the other hand, online education has certain disadvantages that can be overcome with motivation. Actually, any online learner has to be self-disciplined because the focus is on the students, not the teacher, who, in a traditional setting, demands from them. In an online environment students have to make all the efforts themselves. Needless to say, it is too difficult for most of them. Moreover, the rapport between a teacher and students is vital for those of them who prefer live face-to-face lessons. To conclude with, I strongly believe that both online and traditional teaching and learning should be used. There are various kinds of students with individual needs and attitude to learning. Providing that such differences exist, the appropriate forms of learning should exist as well.