Distance learning is ultimately more advantageous for both the school and its students than the traditional classroom set up. with this statement?

With the technological advances, internet-based learning has gained more popularity among learners. Some people argue that schools and students could derive more benefits from distance education compared to traditional one. From my perspective, I partly agree with this argument. On the one hand, I think that e-learning is beneficial as it offers greater degree of flexibility and cost-cutting opportunities. In contrast with the fixed timetable of traditional classrooms, distance classes may enable students to adjust their schedule, especially for those who lead a busy life. Hence, students can take preferred courses whenever it is convenient for them. For those who are working, for instance, this form of education may particularly advantageous as it would not interrupt their job, and they can maintain work-study balance. Moreover, e-learning may lessen the training cost in various ways. To be more specific, students could reduce fuel costs for commuting and additional school fees such as maintenance and human resources. Some people, on the other hand, believe that distance learning has several drawbacks that can be overcome by conventional learning. The first disadvantage is the lack of in-person interaction with teachers due to physical absence. That may make students neither truly comprehend the lessons nor have enough hands-on practice. For example, in Physics and Chemistry classes, online learners cannot have chance to do actual experiments with direct guidance from teachers, which could be difficult for students to understand. The second weakness of distance education is its interruption. Sitting in front of the screen for several hours in succession might cause boredom and break learners’ concentration. Besides, social media and other recreative sites, such as Facebook, Youtube, ect may be the distraction to students as well. In conclusion, distance learning places both positive and negative effects on school and students. While this method of learning stands a high chance of bringing flexibility and money-saving chances, it also has shortcomings in terms of contact and concentration.