Discuss two opinions about free trade

International trade has been a controversial issue for decades. While some people believe that it is essential to promote movements of good across borers for economic growth for the countries, some say that it causes a damage on local economy. In this essay I will try to discuss both view points and provide my opinion. Trade of goods across borders give economic benefit for many countries. Exporting goods to other countries is a powerful way to earn foreign currency and expanding the market, which is imperative for economic growth in many countries. International trades help the countries to supply items in demand each other, meaning that a country abundant in a particular item can export the surplus to other countries where the item is in scarce. In this way, international trade give a win-win situation where exporting countries can make the revenues for national and local economy and importing countries can get the supply people demands in the country. For example, Japan exports lots of fresh seafood items to neighboring Asian countries where people spend money in enjoying the fresh items only available in Japan. This gives lots of benefit and additional revenues for local fishery market in Japan. On the other hand, it is also true that international free trade also damages local industries especially when the cost competitive products are unlimitedly imported from other countries. This is one of the common concerns over international trade. For example, agriculture industry has always controversial issue when it comes to global trading. Countries like the US or China where it has agricultural land and investments at industrial scale can export cost competitive agricultural products to other countries, which causes a severe damage in local economies in the importer countries. For instance, the farmers used to grow soy beans or wheat for decades across Japan. However, once Japan started import of the products from the US with less custom as per the trade agreement between two nations, it became a challenge for the domestic farmers to compete with the imported products with cheaper price. Eventually there was no option left for the farmers to give up cultivation of soy beans and wheats, and they have lost a massive source of income. All in all, I agree that international trades are important and play a key role in boosting the economy across any countries, but there should be a agreement and regulation to control to take a balance between getting benefit for economic development and protecting the local economy.