Discuss the salient features of the New Education Policy and its impact on the Indian education system.

Recently, the National Education Policy(NEP)2020 was announced by the Ministry of Human Resource Development(Now called the Ministry of Education). The policy is aimed at transforming the Indian education system to meet the needs of the 21st century. The new policy seeks rectification of poor literacy and numeracy outcomes associated with primary schools, reduction in dropout levels in the middle and the secondary schools and adoption of the multi-disciplinary approach in the higher education system. Apart from this, the policy also focuses on early childhood care, restructuring curriculum and pedagogy, reforming assessment and exams, and investing in teacher training and broad-basing their appraisal. Though the NEP 2020 seeks to bring a holistic change in the education system of India, its success depends on the will and way in which it will be implemented. Significance of National Education policy 2020: Recognising importance of formative years: In adopting a 5+3+3+4 model for school education starting at age 3, the policy recognises the primary of the formative years from ages 3 to 8 in shaping the child's future. Departure from silos Mentality: Another key aspect of school education in the new policy is the breaking of the strict divison of arts, commerce and science streams in high school. This can lay the foundation for a multi-disciplinary approach in high education. The confluence of education and skills: Another laudable aspect of the scheme is the introduction of vocational courses with an internship. This may nudge the vulnerable sections of society to send their children to school. Further the Policy seeks to leverage the huge potential of online pedagogy and learning methodologies for increasing gross enrolment in higher education.