Discuss the relationship between poverty and crime.

Statistics may show a certain relationship between poverty and crime. The positive correlation between unemployment and the crime rate in many countries could be taken as evidence for this. However, if we investigate this question further, we may find this kind of statistical phenomenon both superficial and misleading. It is true that, under certain conditions, poverty may induce crime. Statistics have shown that people who live under the poverty line are more likely to involve in illegal activities than people who are not struggling to make ends meet. There is more than one motive of a person committing a crime but, as the saying goes, “inequality income is the mother of crime”. Low income combines with a huge amount of work can easily result in job giving up, as people are expected to have a break in order to work effectively and efficiently in an acceptable amount of time. Nowadays, the increasing unemployment rate is one of the biggest issues for not only the individuals but also the government as ensuring civil security because joblessness may encourage illegal actions. The second motive can stem from the social environment since it is well-known how much impact the poor living environment can have on people’s lives. Though poverty does not directly instigate illegal actions, there is still a visible connection between those two. The issue could be even better clarified by making comparisons between nations. It is undeniable fact that developed countries have a lower crime rate than developing countries. As the aforementioned factor, it is clearly seen that environment has a great influence on our behaviors. Therefore, nations with better living conditions, law enforcement are doing better in eradicating criminal activities. In short, there is no direct relationship between poverty and crime. So long as the system of legal enforcement and prosecution can enforce justice, social conditions are kept in order, and the government’s authority is obeyed by the rich and the poor alike, crime will be limited in both rich and poor areas as well as in both rich and poor countries.