Discuss the reasons why many Filipinos are working in BPO companies

In the recent years, more and more young Filipinos living in the cities has turned to BPOs for their career. They occupy a central role in the economy of Philippines cities nowadays. From individual reasons to private entities government motivations, there are many reasons explaining why an increasing number of Filipinos are working in BPOs. The first reason is the reason for the very presence of BPO companies in the Philippines: foreign companies and in particular North American companies finds avantages in developping BPOs in Philippines. American companies can find in the Philippines a cheap labor force with the minimum salary being only about 10 US$ per day in Metro Manila. Through the many Special Economic Zones, they also pay only very few taxes. Another advantage when it comes to recruit employees for call centers is the high proficiency in English of Filipino people due to the fact that English is both an official language and the main language of instruction from elementary school to college. The next reason is that the governement find a solution to employment through the BPOs. With almost no industry and a declining agriculture, the governement has to find ways to cope with unemployment. The primary way is to send Filipinos abroad to work as OFWs in various fields such as construction and nursing. This way is not recent as it already started in the 70s under the Marcos dictatorship. With an economy focusing on tertiary sector, the BPOs are ideal to provide more jobs. Through the PEZA (Why are many Filipinos working in BPO companies? ), the government can offer many advantages to foreign companies that want to establish a branch in the Philippines. The final reason consist on explaining the reason why people, individually, choose to work in BPOs. First the requirement for admission are not too demanding: good English communication skills and a degree in IT or communication is enough. Then, the salary is much higher than in retails and other service employment. Working for a foreign company also gives a nice social status. BPO finds a particular place in Philippines economy because they offer an improvement for the middle class while serving the interest of both the government and foreign companies. But foreign companies could decide to stop investing in BPOs using more and more intelligent AI operated chat bots instead of traditional call centers. This situation would further accentuate the employment crisis in the Philippines.