Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of raising pets

For a long time, pets have been considered to be humans’ good friends and this is even more evident in this day and age with an increasing number of households adopting domestic animals. However, everything has two sides and pet ownership is not an exception. While raising pets brings many benefits, there still exist certain drawbacks that cannot be ignored. There are numerous indisputable advantages of nurturing pets. First and foremost, pets such as dogs have the ability to protect owners and even property from dangers. With inherent nature and through training, some kinds of them not only guard the house against external threats but also have reflexes to strike back those who deliberately endanger their owners. Besides, pets are also the faithful companions of humans that bring us a happier life. In cases we have anxiety, stress, or depression, playing with them helps us keep those spiritual and psychological problems away. Nevertheless, owning pets has a few disadvantages as well, such as potential health risks and high cost of care. In many circumstances, pets cannot control their actions and become aggressive so that they can attack people and sometimes their owners. Moreover, they are often the source of many diseases since they carry many pathogens which can be easily transmitted to humans. Another unexpected aspect is that the cost of raising pets accounts for a significant part of our budget. There appear various things an owner has to pay in order to meet from fundamental demands to other needs namely health or beauty, etc. In conclusion, despite various merits of keeping pets, people should think over the downsides of it so as to protect ourselves from dangers and optimize their benefits. Only with proactive actions of humans, pets will increasingly become not only a protector but also a reliable friend of people.